Hey I Like your Afro


Trend alert: Introducing Truly Glamorous headbands
June 3, 2009, 11:33 pm
Filed under: Accessories | Tags: , ,

Where can you buy a bright, feathery and beautifully made hair piece to rock these summer nights and into the fall? Look no further than the newly launched “Truly Glamorous” headbands made by my dear friend and incredibly self-assured aspiring songstress, Paula Gonzalez, also known as “Truly Paula.” The delicately made hair bands range in price from $15-35 and can be custom ordered too.

I had a short chat with her this afternoon to talk about her debut collection of hair pieces, the inspiration behind the line and what the future holds for “Truly Glamorous.”

Me: So how did you come up with the idea to make these headbands?
Truly Paula: Actually, I wanted to have headbands with big obnoxious bows and crazy things because that’s just the style I like to portray, and I was searching for them and I could never find anything. So I said to myself, well you know I can make this so I got materials to make a couple of them. Then i realized as “Truly Paula” I will soon be an icon to my fans and people are going to want what I have. So why not make them for everyone to have. I want to make my creations, a trend, a lifestyle, and a way of being; something that i can be recognized for. And I love anything that has to do with art!

Me: Do you make every one of these yourself? How long does it take to make?
TP: Yes, I make them all myself. My friend Andrea is helping out with a lot of the necklaces and bracelets that will be a part of [the line]. To make a headband takes anywhere between 15-45 minutes, depending on the details.

Me: Where did the name come from?
TP: Well since I’m “Truly Paula,” Truly Paula itself will be a brand, everything that I do, I want it to be related. So “Truly Glamorous” would be something that one would feel when they wear the creation. Like if one day you were feeling truly horrible you would automatically relate it to Truly Paula and living a Truly Paula lifestyle.

Me: Which head band is your personal favorite of the moment?
TP: I LOVE “Take Me Away Night.” (Above picture) It just reminds me of going out and feeling sexy and mysterious and a handsome man coming to take you away..that’s why I named it that.

Me: So what does the future hold for “Truly glamorous” head bands?
TP: Well my mission for the future is to make Truly Glamorous a lifestyle and an iconic fashion trend for [a] new future.

Personally, I’m digging the neon green bow piece. To view the entire collection, check out the “Truly Glamorous” Facebook page here or check out their Myspace page. Make sure to catch the line on Twitter if that’s your thing. To order any one of the pieces in the collection, contact Paula at:
Paula.TrulyGlamorous@gmail.com
Andrea.TrulyGlamorous@gmail.com

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Oh the black one is so pretty, kind of Olivia Palermo / Blair Waldorf-ish. Gotta love pretty custom headbands 🙂

Comment by Andhari




Leave a Reply

