Hey I Like your Afro


House of Holland makes a mark on the M.I.A.’s belly
February 10, 2009, 3:11 am
Filed under: M.I.A., Red Carpet


“The hottest pregnant lady ever,” according to my friend Ian, shocked viewers across the country when she appeared on the Grammy stage last night alongside hip hop royalty Jay-Z, Lil Wayne, T.I. and Kanye West. The five-some performed the Grammy nominated hit “Swagger like Us,” where M.I.A. sampled her other Grammy nominated song, “Paper Planes.” Sadly, neither song took home an award but her appearance gave everyone a lot to talk about.

At nine months pregnant, M.I.A.looked ready to burst as she made her way down the red carpet in a bright blue, non-maternity dress by Indian designer Manish Arora. Some were even predicting that the Sri Lankin songstress could possibly give birth and win a Grammy on the same night. Thankfully, she kept things together and rocked the house in the most creative and colorful outfits of the night.

But it was the polka-dot mesh mini dress from the House of Holland spring 09 collection that really got people talking. The London based designer, Henry Holland, admitted that he was a little apprehensive when he first heard M.I.A. would be wearing the outfit. But the fellow neon enthusist, Holland’s fears quickly subsided.

“I was a bit worried about what the patch was going to cover with the belly involved, but she wore a little skirt with it,” said Holland. (NY mag’s The Cut)

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

OMG. I did not realize that this wasn’t something made for her. It looks amazing. That’s so cool she took something non-maternity and made it her own.

M.I.A. is easily the coolest lady ever, pregnant or not.

Comment by mlp

oh to have such confidents, im not even pregnant and still idk if i could pull off wearing that dress 😛

Comment by insomniaclolita

[…] M.I.A. baby dons House of Holland couture July 22, 2009, 11:13 pm Filed under: M.I.A. | Tags: Baby, Grammy, House of Holland, M.I.A., Twitter M.I.A. raised eyebrows back in February when she rocked a sheer black polka-dotted dress and performed 9 months pregnant (yup you read that right, 9 months!) at the Grammy Awards. It looks like the singer-rapper is back at it, this time using her twitter to debut pictures of her 2-month old son Ikhyd, in a mini version of the House of Holland dress that caused so much commotion. […]

Pingback by M.I.A. baby dons House of Holland couture « Hey I Like your Afro




Leave a Reply

